Bec Cycling Club
Bec Cycling Club

Ashley Cox CC Luton wins Open Road Race

11th May 2014

Ashley Cox CC Luton wins Open Road Race

Congratulations to Ashley Cox (CC Luton) who won today's 79 mile Road Race in stunning style. It was halfway up the testing Marden's hill climb on the last lap that he powered off the front and rounded the corner in Crowborough to ride solo to victory, eventually coming in over 1 min ahead.

Andrew Feather (Bikeshed-uex) then came in at the front of the next group of seven, with Andy Betts (Felt Colbornes Hargoves RT) coming in third.

Many thanks to Dave Hayward for photography (view photos)


Please Note - These are revised results produced on 27/05/2014. Unfortunately the second placed rider has been disqualified by British Cycling for entering multiple events on the same day; breaching regulations. Unfortunate for him, but it does push everyone else up a place. While BC points will be revised, prize money will remain as awarded on the day. Sorry. 

1 34 Ashley Cox E CC Luton
2 2 Andrew Feather 1 BikeShed-Uex
2 32 Andy Betts 1 Felt Colbornes Hargroves RT
3 31 Alex higham E Felt colbornes RT
4 45 max Stedman 2J pedal Heaven colbornes rt
5 27 Mike Wragg 1 Arbis - Colbert Cycles RT
6 19 Mark Perry 1 All Terrain Cycles
7 30 William Pratt 1 Cadence Cycling Performance
8 47 jamie pine E pedal Heaven colbornes rt
9 50 lewis atkins 1 pedal Heaven colbornes rt
10 51 Stephen Adams 1 Metaltel Kuota
11 42 Richard Cartland 2 Southdowns Bikes
12 13 Nick Gasson 2 34 Nomads
13 7 Kendal Noctor 2 Feather Cycles Racing
14 6 harry franklin 1 Catford cc banks equipe
15 35 Oliver Davies 1 PM
16 49 anders Christensen1 Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT
17 26 Joel Natale 2 Dulwich Paragon CC
18 48 chris Mcnamara E pedal Heaven colbornes rt
19 43 vojtech blazejovsky 2 brixton cycles
20 41 Harry Ribbons 2 VC Meudon
21 9 Simon Brooks 1 Vc St Raphael
22 12 Adam Cotterell 1 WyndyMilla - Reynolds
23 39 Peter Hitt 3 VC Meudon
24 21 Oliver Jedrej 2 Dulwich Paragon CC
Lap down 18 Matthew Leary 3 PB Cycle Coching Racing Team
DNF 1 Daniel Sims 3 Albellio SFA
DNF 3 Gary Wallis 3V Velo Club Rutland
DNF 4 Harry Godding 1 U23 RM Cycles
DNF 5 David McNeill 3 London Dynamo
DNF 8 Duncan Coulter 2 Kinoko Cycles Racing
DNF 11 Rhys Clegg 1 Pmr@toachimhouse
DNF 14 Cameron Austin 3 Look Mum No Hands
DNF 16 Scott Gilchrist 3 4T+ Velo Club
DNF 23 Ewan Tuohy 3 Catford CC Equipe Banks
DNF 24 liam yates 2 catford banks equipe rt
DNF 25 Nick Wilkinson 1 Cadence
DNF 29 harold evans 1 Cadence
DNF 33 Matt Kuwertz 2 Southborough & District Wheelers
DNF 36 Albert Ellison 2 VC Meudon
DNF 37 Conall Yates 2 in gear quickvit trainsharp
DNF 40 tom Bowering 2 VC muedon
DNF 44 Gavin Morton 2 VC Meudon
DNF 46 Francis Cade E pedal Heaven colbornes rt
DNS 10 Tyler Lemmon 2 Team Bottecchia UK
DNS 15 Jacob Nicholson 2 Team Bottecchia UK
DNS 17 JONNY Graham 3V pearson cc
DNS 20 Sam Davies 2 abergavenny rc
DNS 22 Stephen Cavey 2 Catford cc Banks Equipe
DNS 28 Matthew Butt 2 SPEG - Project 51 RT
DNS 38 Christopher Zappala 2 Look Mum No Hands!

Today we had strong winds, which together with the testing terrain lead to some very exciting racing. There were lots of breaks but none were really left to get away and none of the gaps really went over 40 seconds. 

The second half of the race was over the new Crowborough circuit which included the Marden's hill climb. This climb at 1.3 miles with a height gain of 380ft proved a real challenge to all.  

Over the last couple of years our open road race has been evolving. Having moved away from it's traditional home on the Lingfield course, we've been looking for something new and challenging. I think today we found it, with a combination of the Ladies Mile and the new Crowborough Circuits. Well done to all the riders that finished, it was certainly a hard days racing!

NOTE: A set of cars keys were found at the finish and handed in, please contact us to get them back!


Gabriel Dellar (Stolen Goat Race Team) rides solo to victory
12th May 2024

Gabriel Dellar (Stolen Goat Race Team) rides solo to victory

Congratulation to Gabriel Dellar who won this afternoon Bec CC Road Race on the tough roads around Ashdown Forest (East Sussex).  After a solid...

Read article

Login box