Bec Cycling Club
Bec Cycling Club

Andy Betts Wins Bec Open RR

12th May 2013

Andy Betts Wins Bec Open RR


This years road was was back on the Ladies Mile Circuit although with a twist. After 17 Laps including three primes the riders turned off to head directly up and into Ashdown Forest. Early in the race a couple of riders broke free and very soon Andy Betts (Felt Colbornes Hargroves RT) and Chris McNamara (Pedal Heaven RT) formed an alliance at the front. Throughout the early part of the race they worked well together, sharing the primes and keeping the pressure on.

View Photos Here

A number of riders attempted to ride across to them although these breaks off the front of the bunch simply pushed up the pace and sent riders out of the back. This together with the long drag of a climb up towards the Ladies Mile was hitting hard on the bunch and a couple of riders a lap were being dropped.

Through the bell lap it was clear the Andy Betts was the stronger rider and after turning right off the course and begining the climb up towards Ashdown Forest he sprinted away from Chris McNamara to take the victory by 16 second. Richard Wood (Arbis / Colbert Cycles) came in third having jumped off the front of the bunch over the last few laps. He finished around 2mins 33 down with the main bunch coming in shortly after.

Of the 69 riders that started only 33 completed, with some of those being a lap down. Neutral service fixed 4 punctures and 1 other mechanical.

Next years race is likely to be back in the Ashdown Forest, although we're looking to do something that doesn't involve so many laps of one circuit.

Provisional Results  

1 23 Andy Betts Felt Colbornes Hargroves RT E 449224 3hrs 05 min 26 secs
2 46 Chris McNamara Pedal Heaven RT E 405875 + 16.86 secs
3 8 Richard Wood Arbis / Colbert Cycles 1 418043 + 2min 33 secs
4 70 Russell Hampton Team Raleigh GAC E 428044 Main Bunch
5 64 Germain Burton Team De Ver 1J 466422
6 54 Jason White Private Member 1 417198
7 40 Robert Moore  London Phoenix CC 1 714846
8 69 Jake Hales Team IG- Sigma sport E 436865
9 29 Alexander King GPM10 Cycling Team 1st/u23 451605
10 45 Anders Christensen Pedal Heaven RT E 430345
11 25 Alex Higham Felt colbornes RT E 443267
12 65 Ashley Dennis Team De Ver 2J 707459
13 63 Simon Henley team corley cycles 2 407112
14 13 Lawrence Carpenter AW Cycles  2 440644
15 50 Oliver Davies Planet X 1 708248
16 27 Pete Wager Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves-RT 1 450603
17 66 Harry Franklin Team De Ver 2J 705119
18 67 Richard Cartland Team Echelon - Rotor 1 407951
19 35 Joshua Gosselin GVC Edmond De Rothschild  3 706431
20 51 Harry Godding PMR@Toachim House 1 U23 833852
21 57 Adam French Rapha condor cc 1 714794
22 37 Connal Yates InGear Quickvit Trainsharp 1 829425
23 5 Nick Wilkinson Aprire Bicycles RT 1 714900
24 68 Andrew Griffiths Team IG - Sigma sport E 420346
25 6 Michael Barnes Aprire Bicycles RT 2 U23 721616
26 47 Jamie Pine Pedal Heaven RT E 471382
27 11 James Wilson AW Cycles E 721303
28 9 Mike Wragg Arbis LLP - Colbert Cycles RT 1 445328
1 lap down ?
29 2 Nick Gasson 34 Nomads 2 715963
30 60 Keith Henderson Southborough Wheelers 2 722472
31 34 Philip Touzeau GVC Edmond de Rothschild 3 718442

Thanks to all those riders / helpers that turned up today to support this event.

We had 79 Riders entered in advance although started with 69 riders. 2 Race Commisaires, 2 Lead Cards, Neutral Services + First aid. 4 NEG Motorbikes, 9 Static Marshalls, and a few more Bec Members doing various roles. See you all next year.



Gabriel Dellar (Stolen Goat Race Team) rides solo to victory
12th May 2024

Gabriel Dellar (Stolen Goat Race Team) rides solo to victory

Congratulation to Gabriel Dellar who won this afternoon Bec CC Road Race on the tough roads around Ashdown Forest (East Sussex).  After a solid...

Read article

Login box